top of page

Blog #11 - BBG Chapter 10 | Examples

When reading over boring chapters in this textbook, I tend to go for the examples. It's perfect to illustrate the expectations of what we should/shouldn't do on our projects. Multigenre projects are new for me, and I have no idea how to do it. However, what I do know is that project 2 was boring, and it's going to take a lot more than a 3000 word essay to capture people's attention. When it comes to genres in this class, I tend to avoid words as much as possible - only using it when necessary. The example of the audio diary in this chapter is really interesting, and I might use that as one of my genres because listening is a lot more fun and easy than reading. The brochure example isn't really my cup of tea. I'm not trying to sell a product, and personally I throw away brochures that are handed to me. I have a super short attention span, as mentioned, and if something doesn't capture my attention in the first 5-10 minutes (whether that'd be a book, a tv show, a presentation) then I lose interest. My goal is to keep my audience interested, and my three genres will target three different audiences, just because I know not everyone thinks like me.


bottom of page